Information about the region

Information about the region

Abay region or Abay region (kaz. Abai oblysy, Abai oblysy) is a region in the eastern part of Kazakhstan, formed on June 8, 2022, the administrative center is the city of Semey. In 1939-1997, this territory was the Semipalatinsk region with the administrative center in Semipalatinsk (since 2007 - Semey). The Semipalatinsk region was formed by the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR on October 14, 1939 and continued to exist in the Republic of Kazakhstan. On May 3, 1997, by decree of President Nursultan Nazarbayev, the Semipalatinsk region was abolished, and its territory became part of the East Kazakhstan region. On March 16, 2022, the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Kassym-Jomart Tokayev, delivered a message to the people of Kazakhstan during a joint meeting of the chambers of parliament, where he proposed the creation of the Abay region. The region was formed on June 8, 2022 in accordance with the decree of the President of Kazakhstan dated May 4, 2022. The Abai region included the same territories that until 1997 were part of the former Semipalatinsk region.



185 500 sq. km.


Neighboring regions and countries:

  • in the east - EKR
  • in the south - Zhetysuskaya
  • in the west - Karaganda
  • in the north - RF


Climatic conditions

  • Sharply continental, with large daily and annual air temperature amplitudes. Winter is harsh, summer is hot.


Geographical data

The region is located in the east of Kazakhstan, borders in the east on the East Kazakhstan region, in the south - on the Zhetysu region, in the west - on the Karaganda region, in the north-west - on the Pavlodar region of Kazakhstan, in the north - on Russia (Altai Territory), on southeast - with China (Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region).

Most of the region is occupied by the eastern part of the Kazakh uplands and is an undulating plain with a height of 500 - 700 m. In the southeast, the Tarbagatai Range up to 3,000 m high extends, separating the Zaisan and Balkhash-Alakol depressions. The northern part of the region is covered with steppe on chernozem soils, but desert steppe prevails in most of the region.

About the Region

As a result of administrative changes, the Abay region consists of 8 districts and 2 cities of regional subordination (city akimats).
  • Abaysky district
  • Aksuat district
  • Ayagoz district
  • Beskaragai district
  • Borodulikha district
  • Zharma district
  • Kokpektinsky district
  • Urdzharsky district
  • city of Kurchatov
  • city of Semey

Population 610,4

(1.09.2022, thousand person)


GRP 103,0

(January-June 2022 to January-June 2021, %


Inflation 18,8

(September 2022 per to september 2021, %)


Average monthly salary

248 989 tenge


Unemployment rate 4,9

(2st quarter of 2022, %)

*Excluding small businesses engaged in entrepreneurial activities.

Install the application:
1) Open the website in Safari
2) Click save
3) Add to home screen